Latest News


Her Majesty the Queen has been pleased to approve the appointment of: Sir Edward Garnier QC MP, Charles Hendry MP, Anne Milton MP, David Evennett MP, Mark Field MP, Dr Julian Lewis MP, Keith Simpson MP, Fiona Mactaggart MP, David Heath MP, Baroness Garden of Frognal and Baroness Northover to Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council.


The Privy Council are members of the Queen’s own Council: the ‘Privy Council’. There are about 500 members who have reached high public office. Appointments are made by the Sovereign on ministerial advice and are for life. All present and past Cabinet Members are appointed to the Privy Council. Also included in the membership are members of the royal family, senior judges, two archbishops, British Ambassadors, the Speaker of the House of Commons, Prime Minister and Cabinet Members, present and former leaders of the Opposition, and leading Commonwealth spokesmen and judges. Members are entitled to the prefix, ‘Right Honourable’.


In the past, Privy Counsellors were the chief governing body and fulfilled the role that the Cabinet performs today.


Fiona Mactaggart said, “This is a great honour, not just for me but also a recognition of the people of our town, I would not have received it without the people of Slough who I have the great privilege of representing in Parliament.”