Latest News

Fiona Re-appointed to Intelligence & Security Committee of Parliament

Parliament yesterday agreed the appointment of Alan Duncan MP, Dominic Grieve MP, George Howarth MP, Angus Robertson MP, Keith Simpson MP, Gisela Stuart MP and Slough’s MP Fiona Mactaggart to the Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament (ISC).

The Intelligence and Security Committee is responsible for scrutinising policy, administration and expenditure of the intelligence and security agencies: the Security Service (MI5), the Secret Intelligence Service (MI6) and the Government Communications Headquarters (GCHQ). The committee is made up of 9 members of both the House of Commons and the House of Lords.

Fiona was a member of the committee in the last Parliament, from May 2014 until the general election.

Fiona commented, “I’m glad to be reappointed. The committee allows me to influence the work of the security service and scrutinise the Government particularly in light of recent military activity in Syria. I hope we will urgently be able to look at the recent decision to use drones to kill UK citizens in Syria. I will work hard to ensure the Government and security services act in the best interests of the British people.”

The motion to approve membership of the ISC was put before the House of Commons on 9th September.